Determine the relative maximum and minimum on the graph

Jay007

Given that f is the function on (−∞, ∞) and the graph is the derivative of f

1.) Find the critical point on the graph ?
2.) Find the interval of the increasing function on the graph ?
3.) Find the interval of the decreasing function on the graph ?
4.) Find the point which is the relative maximum on the graph ?
5.) Find the point which is the relative minimum on the graph ?

func.png

My answers for all of the question that I have done on my own is
  • 1.) 4.5,13
  • 2.) [0,4.5] , (10,13]
  • 3.) [4.5,10), [13, - ∞)
  • 4.) 4.5,13
  • 5.) 10

I want to check that I am doing it correct or not because I am not good at discontinuous graph
Can you please help me
Thank you in advice

My english is not very good... The questions refers to the original function or to the graphed one (the derivative)? That is, you are expected to find the critical points, increasing/decreasing ranges, max/min points of the orginal function "f" based on the graph of his derivative (f'), or is about the last one or a mix of both?

Last edited:
Given that f is the function on (−∞, ∞) and the graph is the derivative of f

1.) Find the critical point on the graph ?
2.) Find the interval of the increasing function on the graph ?
3.) Find the interval of the decreasing function on the graph ?
4.) Find the point which is the relative maximum on the graph ?
5.) Find the point which is the relative minimum on the graph ?

View attachment 21458

My answers for all of the question that I have done on my own is
  • 1.) 4.5,13
  • 2.) [0,4.5] , (10,13]
  • 3.) [4.5,10), [13, - ∞)
  • 4.) 4.5,13
  • 5.) 10

I want to check that I am doing it correct or not because I am not good at discontinuous graph
Can you please help me
Thank you in advice
There are problems with the question itself. There is no universal agreement on what a critical point is.
Almost all agree that \(x=4.5~\&~x=13\) are critical points being relative maxima.