Differentiating with respect to 'x' help

Brinkley23

Hi All,

Im in the process of learning calculus and have been given a question to answer, which I have made an attempt at solving (below), can you please advise if I am correct or not, many thanks in advance.

differentiate with respect to 'x'

y=2x4 + 3x-2 + 9

what I have work out:

using rule 1 - anxn-1 and rule 5 - any constant is equal to 0

dy/dx = 8x3 - 6-3 + 0

dy/dx = 8x3 - 6x-3 ............................ [edited]

Sorry if I am way off, its my first attempt. Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
It is correct

Actually you used more rules than just two. But you used them all correctly.

It is correct

Actually you used more rules than just two. But you used them all correctly.

Thanks for the quick reply JeffM, glad to know that I got the correct answer!

Can you check over this one for me:

y=5e3x - 8e-2x

My workings out using rule 4: na eax

dy/dx = 15e3x - 16e-2x

Many Thanks

(-8)(-2) = ?
now this is where my basic math skills really let me down! knowing that a negative multiplied by a negative results in a positive I would expect the answer 16.

therefore dy/dx = 15e3x + 16e-2x ?

now this is where my basic math skills really let me down! knowing that a negative multiplied by a negative results in a positive I would expect the answer 16.

therefore dy/dx = 15e3x + 16e-2x ?
oh and seeing as I've got you... (last one I promise)

y= 6sin3x - cos2x

My working out using rule 2: na cos ax and 3: -na sin ax

dy/dx = 18cos3x -sin2x ? (I'm sure with this one I'm a mile off, I was unsure if rule 3 was correct to apply for the 2nd part and if I have used it correctly?!)

y= 6sin3x - cos2x

dy/dx = 18cos3x -sin2x ? (I'm sure with this one I'm a mile off, I was unsure if rule 3 was correct to apply for the 2nd part and if I have used it correctly?!)
Derivative of cosine is - sine and you already have a minus sign, so...? Also what about the "derivative of the inside" (chain rule) in the second term.