Finding Components for Displacement Vectors (Physics)

TheJason

Let;s say you were given 4 displacements with angles (directions) and magnitudes (measured in m)..

75 degrees southeast (A) 56 m
10 degrees northwest (B) 19 m
80 degrees northeast (C) 34 m
33 degrees southwest (D) 12 m

Well, you can't put those trig values in the component equations for each one, respectively. They have to be modified.

I know how to modify the northeast and southwest one

Northeast:

For C: 90 deg - 80 deg = 10 degrees

Southwest:

For D: 180 deg + 33 deg = 213 degrees

How would we calculate A and B?

Well, with C:

[math]C_{x} = C \cos \theta_{C} [/math]
[math]C_{x} = (34) \cos (10)[/math]
[math]C_{y} = C \sin \theta_{C} [/math]
[math]C_{y} = (34) \sin (10)[/math]

[math]D_{x} = D \cos \theta_{D} [/math]
[math]D_{x} = 12 \cos (213)[/math]
[math]D_{y} = D \sin \theta_{D} [/math]
[math]D_{y} = 12 \sin (213)[/math]

Last edited:
I'm a pilot and a sailor and I've never seen headings given like this before.

If I had to guess. I'd say you measure these from the x-axis in the appropriate direction.

So using standard nautical headings we'd have

75 degrees southeast would be a heading of 165 degrees
10 degrees northwest would be a heading of 280 degrees

then to find out the cartesian displacements, using nautical headings we have

[MATH](D_x,D_y) = R(\sin(hdg), ~\cos(hdg))[/MATH]
Of course you can choose to do it in standard coordinates as well where the positive x-axis is 0 degrees and the positive y-axis is 90 degrees.

In this case the 2 examples above are now

75 degrees southeast is -75 degrees = 285 degrees
10 degrees northwest is 170 degrees

Using standard coordinates the displacements are given by

[MATH](D_x,~D_y) = R(\cos(hdg),~\sin(hdg))[/MATH]
both coordinate systems are perfectly valid. Standards coordinates are used more often in math.
Nautical coordinates are used in navigation.

see if you can finish this up now.