Forgive my ignorance!

writingchick

Hi. Forgive my mathamatical ignorance, but I am a writer who works from the other side of the brain lol! I am writing a book in which one of my characters is a high school junior who is caught cheating on a math test. I need to know what type of math problem is taught at that level that you really can't use a calculor to solve.

Thanks so much for your help! :wink:

Writing chick!

Hello, writingchick!

It depends on the student, I suppose.

If he/she is "good" in math, it might be Trignometry or even Calculus.
(But trig would certainly require a calculator.

An "average" student could be taking Algebra (One or Two) in the junior year.

If additional details, we can help more.

For example, how deeply do you want to get into his/her cheating?
Was he caught with the Quadratic Formula written on his sleeve?
Is the type of math course important at all?
. . Does it somehow help to define the character?
Or is the method of cheating more important?

Geometry construction might be fun. The student could have a sharp object to make the whole thing more exciting.

writingchick said:
Hi. Forgive my mathamatical ignorance, but I am a writer who works from the other side of the brain lol! I am writing a book in which one of my characters is a high school junior who is caught cheating on a math test. I need to know what type of math problem is taught at that level that you really can't use a calculor to solve.
Thanks so much for your help! :wink: Writing chick!

If you're writing, then mathamatical should be mathematical and calculor
should be calculator...keep your editor happy!

What do you mean by: can't use a calculator to solve ?
No calculator allowed, all calculations by hand?
Or the problem is such that "logic" is required, thus a calculator is not required?

Hi everyone! Wow...what a flurry of replies! Thank you all!