Help calculating sum of matrix elements

frctl

I wish to learn how to calculate the sum of matrix elements, according to the images I display below these questions I currently working on either use the sum symbol Σ or notation of the individual matrix elements.

Q1.
s.png
Here I am confused about which elements are being summed.

Q2.
ss.png
Here I don't understand why the second element index position is a variable.
I know that the sigma above denotes 1 + 2 + 3 = 6 without considering a2,j.

Is someone able to guide me through understanding this concept better and how to arrive at the correct result? I currently don't find any detailed explanations in the lecture or textbook I am currently studying from.

I wish to learn how to calculate the sum of matrix elements, according to the images I display below these questions I currently working on either use the sum symbol Σ or notation of the individual matrix elements.

Q1.
View attachment 35049

Q2.
View attachment 35050
I know that the sigma above denotes 1 + 2 + 3 = 6 without considering a2,j.

Is someone able to guide me through understanding this concept better and how to arrive at the correct result? I currently don't find any detailed explanations in the lecture or textbook I am currently studying from.
In plain English, it's asking you to sum all the elements in row 2 with the column's index [imath]j = 1, 2, 3. [/imath]

[math]\sum_{j=1}^3 a_{2,j} = a_{2,1} + a_{2,2} + a_{2,3}[/math]

Q1. Calculate A + 5I and then sum all the elements OR find the sum of the elements of A and add to the sum of the elements of 5I.

In plain English, it's asking you to sum all the elements in row 2 with the column's index [imath]j = 1, 2, 3. [/imath]

[math]\sum_{j=1}^3 a_{2,j} = a_{2,1} + a_{2,2} + a_{2,3}[/math]
Then the answer must be (6) + (5) + (4) = 15, correct?

Q1. Calculate A + 5I and then sum all the elements OR find the sum of the elements of A and add to the sum of the elements of 5I.