Help with proofs

jbower

I'm working on a proof (I'm very new to proofs), and I'm not quite sure how to go about it. Here is the question:

There exists a minimum value such that for every positive integer n, there exists x, y such that n = 4x + 7y.

So far, My idea is to do: n1 = 4x1 + 7y1 minus n0 = 4x0 + 7y0 to get 1 = 4(x1 - x0) + 7(y1 - y0). But after this I'm not sure where to go. Any help in the right direction is appreciated!!

I'm working on a proof (I'm very new to proofs), and I'm not quite sure how to go about it. Here is the question:

There exists a minimum value such that for every positive integer n, there exists x, y such that n = 4x + 7y.

So far, My idea is to do: n1 = 4x1 + 7y1 minus n0 = 4x0 + 7y0 to get 1 = 4(x1 - x0) + 7(y1 - y0). But after this I'm not sure where to go. Any help in the right direction is appreciated!!
The question is not clear to me. Did you copy it correctly? (minimum value of what?)

Hint:

Set of positive integers do NOT include 0.

Perhaps I did express it incorrectly. There exists a minimum number that for every real number, we want to prove it can be expressed as 4x + 7y, where x and y are some natural numbers.

Perhaps I did express it incorrectly. There exists a minimum number that for every real number, we want to prove it can be expressed as 4x + 7y, where x and y are some natural numbers.
Still does not make sense to me!! Please post the EXACT problem (verbatim) as it was presented to you.

Is it a problem translated from another language?

There exists a minimum number that for every real number, we want to prove it can be expressed as 4x + 7y, where x and y are some natural numbers.