high school co-ordinate geometry with a quadrilateral and two kites

davee

1689966915187.png
I'm a middle school student and I want to solve this
I can solve the first question but I don't know how to solve the second and last one.. help me please :(

Have you drawn the updated diagram for #2? Please post that to receive help.
Exactly where are you stuck?

I'm a middle school student and I want to solve this
I can solve the first question but I don't know how to solve the second and last one.. help me please :(

So the exercises with which you are having difficulties are the following:

2. A kite, EBCD, is formed by joining the vertices B(3, 2), C(8, 3), and D(9, 8) to the point E(1, 10).
(a) Find the equation of the axis of symmetry of the kite EBCD.
(b) Show that this axis of symmetry goes through the midpoint of the diagonal BD.

3. Consider any point F(x, y) on the line EC. Assuming that F and C are two distinct points on the line, show that FBCD is always a kite.

For (2), have you drawn the picture? (a) Which line segment represents the axis of symmetry? (b) What is the equation of the line that contains the segment BD? Where does this lead?

For (3), what have you drawn? What are your thoughts? Where are you getting stuck?

Please be complete. Thank you!

Have you drawn the updated diagram for #2? Please post that to receive help.
Exactly where are you stuck?
2-a. The axis of symmetry: EC,
gradient: 3-10/8-1=-1 so -1, and the equation is y=-x+11
I find the equation of this, check it, please.

2-b. I think because the midpoint of BD and the midpoint of the axis of symmetry EC are the same this axis of symmetry goes through the midpoint of the diagonal BD. I think I can use the midpoint equation to solve it. Is it right..?

3. I'm stuck from the beginning.. I cannot understand the problem itself.

So the exercises with which you are having difficulties are the following: