How fast is the circumference changing when .....

eddy2017

Elite Member
Hi, dear friends and teachers:
Chris and Jake are cooking pancakes. Jake ladles the pancake batter into the frying pan. While the pancakes cooks the radius of the circular pancakes formed increases at a rate of 1 cm per minute. How fast is the circumference changing when the radius is 7 cm?.
As always, appreciating any insight into the solution of my problems.
eddy

[MATH]c = 2\pi r\\ \dfrac{dc}{dt} = 2\pi \dfrac{dr}{dt}[/MATH]
I leave you to complete it. Ask yourself whether the current pancake radius affects the rate of the circumference growth.

Last edited:
Use implicit differentiation.

[MATH]c = 2\pi r\\ \dfrac{dc}{dt} = 2\pi \dfrac{dr}{dt}[/MATH]
I leave you to complete it. Ask yourself whether the current pancake radius affects the rate of the circumference growth.
Thanks, let me have a try.

I am so sorry. I thought the solution was easier. I started studying something about explicit and implicit differentiation, but this is something that I am not even familiar with. I will have to put his on hold until I get more knowledge about derivatives. It is something that i have not studied yet. Thanks a lot for your help, notwithstanding.

I am so sorry. I thought the solution was easier. I started studying something about explicit and implicit differentiation, but this is something that I am not even familiar with. I will have to put his on hold until I get more knowledge about derivatives. It is something that i have not studied yet. Thanks a lot for your help, notwithstanding.

Forget I ever mentioned implicit differentiation and just start at post #2.

It's not that hard. You can do it!

Forget I ever mentioned implicit differentiation and just start at post #2.

It's not that hard. You can do it!
Well, let's do. Can I resist a you can do attitude!. Absolutely no!.:)

Given (as I was taught here to label that which has been freely given to me.