How to Calculate Tangent Lines Given Angle and Radius of Circle/Arc

JDfromtheIE

This is my first post here. Thank you for Having me.

I need to figure out a formula to calculate the length of 2 tangent lines given the radius of the circle/arc and the angle of the 2 lines.

A little background on what I'm trying to achieve...

I'm an architectural woodworking engineer (fancy for cabinet engineer). I'm trying to add a radius to what has always been a straight angled notch.

This radius will always be 40mm but the angle between these 2 tangent lines can and will change. This angle will always be obtuse do to the design of this cabinet.

I've attached 1 image showing how I calculate the angles and the other image shows my question.

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Angle Detail.jpg Enlarged Angle Detail.jpg

Go to this link. I have set it up so you can move point B around for different angles.

You don't need to. Just save the link and use it whenever you need it. Why re-invent the wheel?

Got you covered, @JDfromtheIE. Consider a more general form of this problem as depicted by this crappy drawing:

general.png

Imagine this is to scale and the points on the circle where the dotted lines meet form right angles with each other. Fundamentally what you need to do is give some angle for [MATH]\theta[/MATH] and calculate [MATH]L[/MATH] from that.

Angle [MATH]q[/MATH] works out to be the opposite angle from [MATH]\theta[/MATH], so its measure is [MATH]q = 180^\circ - \theta[/MATH]. Connecting the center of the circle with the "tip" of the projection, we form two mirrored right triangles with angles [MATH]90^\circ[/MATH], [MATH]\frac{\theta}{2}[/MATH] and [MATH]\frac{q}{2}[/MATH], and one of the side lengths is [MATH]r[/MATH]. We don't know the other side lengths, but we can get there from here.