Indefinite integrals - I'm really stuck

xailer

hello

I started learning indefinite integrals and already there are few things confusing me.

I understand that given a function f(x) an anti-derivative of f(x) is any function F(x) such that F'(x) = f(x). There are actually an infinite number of functions that we could use and they will all differ by a constant C, so
Code:
(F(x) + C)' = F'(x) = f(x) .

But few thigs I don't understand when writting down the indefinite integral using the symbol # (I will use # since I don't know how else to display the symbol ):
Code:
#f(x)dx = F(x) + C

What is dx doing in above formula ? Doesn't f(x)*dx give us differentials:

Code:
dF = f(x) * dx

, where dF is small change in function F and dx small change in variable x?
What on earth has this got to do with definition of integral I gave at the beginning of the post?

Since I guess terminology is giving me some troubles :

*What does the word differentiating mean ( it seems it has different meanings depending on the context we use it in )?

thank you

You have asked a really good question about the dx.
First I want to warn you not to conflate the idea of ‘Integral’ and ‘antiderivative’.
While they are related they are most definitely not the same.
In higher mathematics an integral is always a number.
In fact I studied integration theory with someone who made all his students write \(\displaystyle \int {f(x)}\) without the dx.
When I began teaching calculus it took me for ever to get in the habit of writing \(\displaystyle \int {f(x)} dx\).
Even then, I explained that the dx is there to tell us the variable of integration.
When you study the numerical integration, Riemann Integral, you will see the use of \(\displaystyle \Delta x\) in the approximating sums. That symbol became the dx we find in textbooks.