Moving a sheet within a box...

woopigeon

Hi,

I'm a programmer that isn't very good at maths (I know, bad career choice). I'm desperately trying to solve the following:

I have a box and within that box is a sheet of paper. I can move this sheet of paper horizontally and vertically based on it's centre point percentage. But I am trying to make it so the sheet of paper stays within the boundaries of the box without it clipping out side...

The image attached shows what I have at the top and what result I need at the bottom if I enter "0" for the horizontal and vertical percentage.

Attachments

• box.jpg
    box.jpg
    84.6 KB · Views: 5
Hi,

I'm a programmer that isn't very good at maths (I know, bad career choice). I'm desperately trying to solve the following:

I have a box and within that box is a sheet of paper. I can move this sheet of paper horizontally and vertically based on it's centre point percentage. But I am trying to make it so the sheet of paper stays within the boundaries of the box without it clipping out side...

The image attached shows what I have at the top and what result I need at the bottom if I enter "0" for the horizontal and vertical percentage.
Please show us what you have tried and exactly where you are stuck.

Please follow the rules of posting in this forum, as enunciated at:

READ BEFORE POSTING

Please share your work/thoughts about this problem.

Hi,

You might consider the rectangle within which the center of the paper has to stay, rather then the entire box. Then just place the center of the paper at the proper percentage of that rectangle.

How big will this smaller rectangle be, compared to the box?

woah ok.

Ok, so to simplify my matter I focus on issue at a time. So lets focus on the horizontal alone and then apply whatever works to the vertical.

So in my mind I had I need to get the percentage of the box...

I take the value the width 790 divide by 100, this gives me 7.9
So 7.9 is one percent.