Newb needs assistance basic: (2y * 3x) + 2 = 7xy??

Ansego

Im a newb, so please be patient.

Are these correct?

1: (2y * 3x) + 2 = 7xy??

2: (2y + 3x)+(3y + 2x) = 5y + 5x OR 10xy??

(Note below: I dont know how to do small cube or square symbols sorry)

3: (2y^2 + 3x^3)+(3y^3 + 2x^2) = 5y^5 + 5x^5 OR 10xy^10??

4: (2y^2 + 3x^3)+2(3y^3 + 2x^2)+3 = 7y^5 + 8x^5 OR 15xy^10??

I hope I am on the right track here, I assume it would work simular with times or divide.

Advance thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
We use the caret symbol ^ to show exponentiation. I have edited your post.

(2y * 3x) + 2 = 7xy
This is incorrect. 2*3=6

2y*3x + 2

6xy + 2

That's as far as we can go. 6xy is a variable term, and 2 is a constant term. We can only combine like terms, so we're done.

(2y + 3x) + (3y + 2x) = 5y + 5x OR 10xy
5x + 5y is correct! These two terms are unlike each other; we cannot combine them.

(If you ever see the expressions 2x*5y or 5x*2y, they each simplify to 10xy.)

(2y^2 + 3x^3) + (3y^3 + 2x^2) = 5y^5 + 5x^5 OR 10xy^10
Both of these are incorrect. There are no like terms, in the given expression (there's an x^2 term, an x term, a y^2 term and a y term), so none of them can be combined.

You can remove the grouping symbols because they're not doing anything to change the order of operations. You could reorder the terms, if you like, but it's not necessary.

3x^3 + 2x^2 + 3y^3 + 2y^2

(2y^2 + 3x^3) + 2(3y^3 + 2x^2) + 3 = 7y^5 + 8x^5 OR 15xy^10
Both of these are incorrect. You need to see the different types of terms.

(2y^2 + 3x^3) + 2(3y^3 + 2x^2) + 3

3x^3 (x cubed term)
2x^2 (x squared term)
3y^3 (y cubed term)
3y^2 (y squared term)
3 (constant term)

As there are no like terms, we cannot combine any of them.

You can remove the first pair of parentheses; doing so will not change anything. To remove the second set of parentheses, you apply the Distributive Property (i.e., multiply each term inside the parentheses by 2).