Newbie here. Help with figuring out amount of feet travelled by moving vehicle

jacquil

Hi All,

I really need help with these calculations:

The basis is the various feet travelled by a car moving at speeds of between 30-50kph. I have figured that part out as follows:

1. At 30kph, a car travels 27.34033 feet per second
2. At 40kph, a car travels 36.455375 feet per second
3. At 50kph, a car travels 45.56722 feet per second
4. At 61kph, a car travels 27.34033 feet per second

Given the above parameters, I need to know how many feet per second was covered at each speed if the car travelled 393 feet. I really appreciate any and all help with this. Thanks! (also if I have the travel rates wrong, please feel free to correct me)

… a car moving at speeds of between 30-50kph

… At 30kph, a car travels [27.3403] feet per second

… At 40kph, a car travels [36.4554] feet per second

… At 50kph, a car travels [45.5672] feet per second

… At 61kph, a car travels [27.3403] feet per second
I rounded all of your results to the same number of decimal places (4). The digits highlighted in red are not correct.

You began talking about speeds from 30kph through 50kph, so I'm wondering whether the 61kph is a typographical error. Regardless, it appears that you accidentally repeated the 30kph conversion.

Given the above parameters, I need to know how many feet per second was covered at each speed if the car travelled 393 feet.
I do not understand this task. Your list above already shows how many feet the car moves each second. If a car moves at 27.3fps, for example, then it moves 27.3 feet each second for as long as it's moving at that speed. The total distance covered (or total time elapsed) does not affect the speed, unless we're missing some information.

Please post the original exercise statement, exactly as you received it. Thank you. :cool:

Last edited:
I rounded all of your results to the same number of decimal places (4). The digits highlighted in red are not correct.