Patterns and equations help please!

lillybeth

OK. I just started learning inputs and outputs and stuff like that today, and i'm really confused on these two questions. Please show me how to do the problems. :confused:

Which of the following sets of ordered pairs is not a function?

a). {(0, 2), (1, 4), (2, 5), (3, 6)}
b). {(-1, 2), (1, 3), (1, 5), (-3, 4)}
c). {(-4, 3), (-1, 1), (-2, 5), (3, 7)}

and

What are the inputs of the following function?
{(-3, 2), (-4, 2), (8, 3), 7, 1)}

Thanks for all the help guys!

OK. I just started learning inputs and outputs and stuff like that today, and i'm really confused on these two questions. Please show me how to do the problems. :confused:

Go back and review the definitions. What is the definition of "function"?

and

Go back and review the definitions. What is the definition of "function"?

The definition of a function: (Yes, I followed your advice and looked it up) A function is a set of mathmatical operations performed on one or more inputs (variables) that the result is an output.

Do you want any more definitions? :| I still can't see how this is helping me get the answer, but I'll look up a few more terms.

One property of function:

For each 'x' value there is only one 'y' value (translated from "exact math-speak")

so if the set is {(3,4), (3,7)} - then for x = 3 we have two y values [ 4 and 7]. Hence that set does not define a function.

This is sometimes called vertical-line test.

One property of function:

For each 'x' value there is only one 'y' value (translated from "exact math-speak")

so if the set is {(3,4), (3,7)} - then for x = 3 we have two y values [ 4 and 7]. Hence that set does not define a function.

This is sometimes called vertical-line test.

I'm all of the sudden really confused... I get that {(3,4), (3,7)} is a function. You know, the deeper this thread gets the more confused I get. Maybe I should just ask my teacher to go over this with me again? :confused: