Probability Of Three Sedans Park Adjacently To Each Other

Zidanne

Hello, I am new to this thread.

I have a question which asks:" There are 30 vehicles in total, 17 Sedans and 13 SUVs. If three teachers that have a Sedan each take students on a trip, then what is the probability of that three sedans will park adjacently to each other?" What I first did to solve this was 30 choose 3 because it represents the total ways 30 vehicles can be lined up in 3 parking spaces each, which is our denominator. Next I did 17 choose 3 because that's the total number of ways a Sedan can be grouped into three parking spaces, which is our numerator. When we solve this we get 34/203. I am not entirely sure if this is the answer, but if I am wrong I would like to have an explanation :) Thanks

Why 17 choose 3? That might mean several things (such as which of the sedans are the teachers'), but I don't see that it gives the number of ways to park all 30 cars so that the given 3 cars are together. Can you explain your thinking?

I'd imagine first choosing a set of 3 adjacent spots (how many ways?), and then choosing the order in which those 3 cars, and all the rest, can be put in.

I have a question which asks:" There are 30 vehicles in total, 17 Sedans and 13 SUVs. If three teachers that have a Sedan each take students on a trip, then what is the probability of that three sedans will park adjacently to each other?" What I first did to solve this was 30 choose 3 because it represents the total ways 30 vehicles can be lined up in 3 parking spaces each, which is our denominator. Next I did 17 choose 3 because that's the total number of ways a Sedan can be grouped into three parking spaces, which is our numerator. When we solve this we get 34/203. I am not entirely sure if this is the answer, but if I am wrong I would like to have an explanation.