Same answer for multiplication

Cazpz

Hello all, I sometimes do sums in my head to help me sleep and have found a calculation which gives the same answer whatever numbers I use. Please bear with me as I’m no expert.

take any number except one containing a 5 or 0. This is how it goes:

4 x 4 = 16 multiply these two digits
1 x 6 = 6
6 x 6 = 36 and again
3 x 6 = 18
1 x 8 = 8 *
8 x 8 = 64
6 x 4 = 24
2 x 4 = 8 *
The answer will always be 8 whatever number that is used. if a number contains 5 or 0, the answer will always be 0.
If the numbers are added, then the answer is 1.
My question is, is there a name for this rather weird result?
Please ask if I’m not clear enough.
Thanks

You say that The answer will always be 8 whatever number that is used. if a number contains 5 or 0, the answer will always be 0. How can that statement be correct? After all, if the answer is always 8 whatever number you used (you said this, not me), then how can you then say that the answer will always be 0.

In mathematics you have to be precise! You meant to write is, The answer will always be 8 whatever number that is used except if the number contains a 0 or 5. If a number contains 5 or 0, the answer will always be 0

If the numbers are added, then the answer is 1. I really have no idea which numbers you are referring to that sum to 1.

Last edited:
Does the first multiplication have to be with the same number? Does the 1st number have to be a digit? If yes, you really need to state this!

Note that 2*2 = 4, 4*4 = 16, 1*6=6 which is not 8. Of course you can continue with 6*6 = 36, 3*6 = 18 and 1*8=8.

Note that 1*1=1 and you never get 0 or 8.

Last edited:
You say that The answer will always be 8 whatever number that is used. if a number contains 5 or 0, the answer will always be 0. How can that statement be correct? After all, if the answer is always 8 whatever number you used (you said this, not me), then how can you then say that the answer will always be 0.