Searching for experience with 'I-pen' or 'E-pen'

Bill51

To the experts among us: Has anyone tried using one of these 'pen-mouse' devices for tutoring math?? Would appreciate any thoughts.
Bill Russell

Hi Bill:

I'm fairly certain that I have not used any "light pen" devices, and I'm absolutely certain that I am not an expert at anything.

Are you referring to the pen which can be used to generate images of handwriting?

I saw somebody using one with an electronic-tablet type of device at the University of Washington about three weeks ago. This person was writing notes on a tablet's screen, and flipping back-and-forth between screens of previously-written pages.

If this is along the lines of what you are asking about, then are you wondering whether or not this is an easier alternative to LaTex (or simply as an alternative to typing your posts) for tutoring electronically?

I would think that such a device would be easier for creating diagrams for upload versus the method that I currently use, as long as I have the option of using different colors. (Currently, I draw my diagrams by hand, put them in a scanner, beam the image file to my network, crop the file using MS Paint, and then upload.)

I would need to first try one of these "pens" before I could decide if it's as functional as a pencil on paper. (I would never use MS Paint to draw a diagram that involves anything other than geometric objects because using MS Paint to write is tantamount to using an Etch-a-Sketch!)

If the device that you're asking about is something else, then can you post a link to a product web page for me?

Cheers,

~ Mark :)

Thanks Mark,

http://www.besttechnologyparts.com/site ... nAod_lKWYg

I have this daydream that this device might be useful for 1-on-1 online coaching, used in conjunction with some sort of 'full-duplex' whiteboard.

I'm going to try one out and if I find out anything useful, I'll report my info to the superb teachers who work here.

Thanks and Best Regards,