Subset of space

Jignesh77

Definition — In vector calculus and physics, a vector field is an assignment of a vector to each point in a subset of space.
I work as a pharmacy technician but I love learning maths. I studied maths till grade 12.
What does "field and space" mean in simple words in the context of vector space?
What does subset of space mean in the above definition?
I am learning for fun. It has been more than 25 years since I left school. I did Masters in Organic Chemistry.

Thank you in advance!

Definition — In vector calculus and physics, a vector field is an assignment of a vector to each point in a subset of space.
I work as a pharmacy technician but I love learning maths. I studied maths till grade 12.
What does "field and space" mean in simple words in the context of vector space?
What does subset of space mean in the above definition?
I am learning for fun. It has been more than 25 years since I left school. I did Masters in Organic Chemistry.

Thank you in advance!
Use Google with keywords vector field and space,

Please tell us what you find and if something particular in those responses that you don't understand.

Read the Wikipedia references - carefully.

Thanks. I know the meaning of space as we use in geometry but I got confused by the phrase "subspace of space".
I still remember vectors from physics but don't understand the term "field". What is the difference between a space in geometry and a space used here?
"In mathematics, a space is a set (sometimes called a universe) with some added structure.". Now, I am more confused by the "added structure".
What does structure mean? I am so sorry. All these words seem to have special meaning.

Thanks. I know the meaning of space as we use in geometry but I got confused by the phrase "subspace of space".
I still remember vectors from physics but don't understand the term "field". What is the difference between a space in geometry and a space used here?