The relationship between x minus y and multiplication by negative 1

pg38528

Hello,

I'm hoping someone can explain to me why this relationship exists. I'm studying accounting. In accounting, account balances are determined by subtracting credits from debits. This can lead to balances that are either positive (debit balance) or negative (credit balance). Today, I've been learning about elimination entries. These entries eliminate the account's balance. I was told the way to do this is subtract the debits from the credits. I quickly realized this is the same as taking the balance from debit minus credit and multiplying it by negative 1. I have never been good at math. I know this seems simple, but I truly don't understand why this is and hoping someone can explain it.

I'm hoping someone can explain to me why this relationship exists. I'm studying accounting. In accounting, account balances are determined by subtracting credits from debits. This can lead to balances that are either positive (debit balance) or negative (credit balance). Today, I've been learning about elimination entries. These entries eliminate the account's balance. I was told the way to do this is subtract the debits from the credits. I quickly realized this is the same as taking the balance from debit minus credit and multiplying it by negative 1. I have never been good at math. I know this seems simple, but I truly don't understand why this is and hoping someone can explain it.

There are many ways to show that it is true, ranging from pictures to deep proofs. To help decide what kind of explanation would meet your needs, can you tell us something about what facts you don't need explanations for, that we can use as a basis for an explanation of this fact?

If you are okay with basic algebra, we can show it this way:

y - x = y + -x = -(-y) + -x = -1(-y) + -1(x) = -1(-y + x) = -1(x + -y) = -1(x - y) = -(x - y)