Unanswerable question?

Peggy

Hello math fans!
I will get right to the point. (Well, sort of, I need to explain the dilemma.)

I’m 63, and have worked on this my whole life. I’m educated; and use geometry often. I’m a nurse. I’ve been a professional organizer in people’s homes as a side gig and often use geometry for furniture placement. Graph paper is my friend. Closets, however, are my downfall only because my OCD kicks in and I want the solution to ne as perfect as possible for containers on the shelves within the closets. It seems simple, but it’s NOT AT ALL SIMPLE.

If you take a look inside a closet, you generally see a shelf above the hanging rod inside the sliding or hinged door. You can measure the shelf for a container, l x w x h, but it usually doesn’t work (as in putting it on a shelf on a wall), because there is an angle at which you must place it in order to get it onto the shelf.

The various measurements that come into play are the wood trim, clothes on hangers (which would be kept in place, but those are pretty much standard width), but allow 20 inches width, and it also depends on where the bar is located in relation to the shelf for that measurement out from the shelf, yet lower than the shelf itself. The reason I mention this is that you don’t want to empty the closet to get something off the shelf. So that measurement depends on where the hanger edge lands, add that to the shelf depth. The measurement of the shelf itself (from the ceiling down) would be an additional amount of inches down from the shelf to the point of where the hanger extends out. I hope you are understanding that the hanger protrusion is a necessary consideration.

It’s also preferable to have the container protruding from the shelf itself by a few inches, to be angle to reach it easier since it’s generally high up, so I add that if it will “work”...