2nd Actuarial exam (FM)

Steven G

Elite Member
Many years ago I took the 1st actuary exam. It was called exam 100 and it covered Linear Algebra and Calculus. I got a 9 on this exam when I was an undergraduate student.

The SOA said that this exam still counts towards passing exam 1, which now covers probability theory

Now I am considering preparing for the 2nd exam which is in finance. I have a bachelors and masters degree in pure math. My question is how hard is this exam going to be for me given that I never took a finance course?

I looked at the exam and for now it seems like it is in another language so I can't gauge the difficulty of the exam.

I recall that one of the tutors here is in the actuary field (I forget who, sorry) and by friend Denis was in the business field. Hopefully these two and others can reply.

Also any ideas for which textbook to study from?

Thanks!

I recall that one of the tutors here is in the actuary field (I forget who, sorry) and by friend Denis was in the business field. Hopefully these two and others can reply.
I think you mean Jeff.
What I learned was on my own...on the job...
basically financial formulas and the likes...
Besta luck Sir Jomo.....if Jomo can't, then nobody can!!

My first thought was, "tkhunny is the actuary", but maybe I've confused him with Gene.

Jeff is a history major who has retired from the financial industry (as a high-level executive), if memory serves. Well, he's "retired" until some institution needs him to lend a hand.

Jomo

Modern economics, particularly financial economics, is heavily mathematicized. When people start talking about atomless measure spaces, I just tune it out because I have no idea what is going on (historians other than Marxists and Hegelians are a bit allergic to the idea that there is history without discrete individuals). However, even I can understand the general meaning of the Kakatuni fixed point theorem without grasping the formal proof.