Looking for a list of what to study next

bardothello

Hi,
I'm wondering if anyone can provide a list that orders learning math from beginner to advance topics.

I'm studying on my own and want to make sure I don't skip steps and miss something important. Currently I am working my way through a calculus book, but if you could provide a list that starts prior to calculus and goes past calculus I would much appreciate it.

Thanks in advance! :)

My first impression is, how good is your:

* Algebra
* Geometry
* Trigonometry
* Analytic Geometry
* Theory of Equations
* Theory of Matrices
* Maybe Discrete Mathematics
* Maybe Theory of Interest

The better you get what has gone on before, the more time you can spend learning something new. Making preliminaries "second nature" frees your mind from clutter.

Part of the Study of Mathematics is getting your brain to work in a way that is more conducive to what may be a different kind of thinking. I do recommend the usual first two calculus classes before you branch out. After that, the world is your oyster. It's not as clear that there is a particular sequence. "Direction" is not well-defined at this point.

Good places to start might be:
* Multi-Dimensional Calculus
* Linear Algebra
* Differential Equations
* Complex Variables
* Number Theory

Really, just get your hands on the graduation requirements from any reputable university and see what tracks ask you to do what path. Your interests are an important part of your travels.

My views. I welcome others'.

Last edited:
Hello Otis,

I enjoy puzzles is the short answer.
The long answer is that I find math more rewarding than playing chess, go, or doing sudoku. Maybe because there's so much to learn.