Hyperbolic Function: Help Needed

chlxowns_

Introduction

Hello, I am currently a student in Engineering Degree, and currently I am stuck in this particular question.... Any help is appreciated!

Question

For an object falling through the atmosphere, a good model for air resistance is that the force of air resistance is proportional to the square of the object’s speed. This leads to the following differential equation:

[MATH]m(dv/dt) = mg - kv^2[/MATH]
where t is time, v(t) is the speed, m is the mass of the object, g is acceleration due to gravity, and k is a constant.

a) Consider a function of the form:

[MATH]v(t)=b tanh(ct)[/MATH]
where b and c are constants.

using [MATH]tanh'(t)=1-tanh^2(t)[/MATH] show that this function has a derivative

[MATH]dv/dt=b(1-tanh^2(ct))c[/MATH]
Then substitute these formulas for v(t) and d [MATH]dv/dt[/MATH] into the equation at the start of the problem and find expressions for the values of b and c; they should depend on g ,m, and k, but should not depend on the time t

My Attempt:

Given that

[MATH]v(t)=btanh(ct)[/MATH]
Differentiate the following function using chain rule,

[MATH]f(g(x)), dy/dx=f'(g(x))× g'(x)[/MATH]
Let [MATH]g(t)=ct , g'(t)=c[/MATH]
Let [MATH]f(g(t))=tanh(g(t)) , f'(g(t))=1-tanh^2(g(t)) [/MATH]
Substitute ct back into g(t)

[MATH]f'(g(t))=1-tanh^2(ct) [/MATH]
Apply chain rule:

[MATH]dv/dt=b(1-tanh^2(ct))× c[/MATH]
Equate the derived equation with original equation.

[MATH]mbc(1-tanh^2(ct))=mg-kv^2[/MATH]
[MATH]mbc(sech^2(ct))=mg-kvg^2[/MATH]
Help I need:

I do not know how to continue for this question, as I am very confused on what do the question want, and how do I express them in terms of c and b....

It appears to me that in your laudable attempts to be formal and thorough, you are not seeing what it is you are doing.

In particular, you start with a parameter "b", but then we don't hear from "b" again until your sixth entry. Personally, I thought you lost "b", but then it magically returned.