Arithmetic Sequence problem

Shu

Hello, this is my first time asking a question here so sorry if I make any mistakes. So essentially, this is a question from my math exam in June. I horribly failed the exam but apparently they will be letting us retake it. Since that is the case I wanted to make sure I have a clear understanding of every question I previously failed.

The Question in exact wording is
"An arithmetic sequence has the first term a and common difference d. The sixth term of the sequence is 10. The sum of the first eight terms of the sequence is 62.
Find a and d"

The teacher gave me no real indication of what I did wrong after the exam for this question so I'd be appreciative is somebody can just show me the first step or how I should even tackle this problem.

The only part he marked right is
N/2 (2(u1) + (n-1)d) = 62 = 8/2( 2(u1) + (8-1)d)

I'll also attach my work from that question in totality. Again any help is appreciated.

Attachments

• 20210729_123511.jpg
    20210729_123511.jpg
    753 KB · Views: 5
Hello, this is my first time asking a question here so sorry if I make any mistakes. So essentially, this is a question from my math exam in June. I horribly failed the exam but apparently they will be letting us retake it. Since that is the case I wanted to make sure I have a clear understanding of every question I previously failed.

The Question in exact wording is
"An arithmetic sequence has the first term a and common difference d. The sixth term of the sequence is 10. The sum of the first eight terms of the sequence is 62.
Find a and d"

The teacher gave me no real indication of what I did wrong after the exam for this question so I'd be appreciative is somebody can just show me the first step or how I should even tackle this problem.

The only part he marked right is
N/2 (2(u1) + (n-1)d) = 62 = 8/2( 2(u1) + (8-1)d)

I'll also attach my work from that question in totality. Again any help is appreciated.