3 of a kind/ A pair: Say there are 3 Aces 3 Kings and 3 Queens...

Probable

Hi!
Pardon my ignorance. I am not good at math. Say there are 3 Aces 3 Kings and 3 Queens. You shuffle them and place them down on the table. You are allowed to turn over 3 cards. What is the probabilty of getting 3 of a kind? Is it 33 percent. What is the probability of getting a pair? Cheers for any explanation. Chris

Hi!
Pardon my ignorance. I am not good at math. Say there are 3 Aces 3 Kings and 3 Queens. You shuffle them and place them down on the table. You are allowed to turn over 3 cards. What is the probabilty of getting 3 of a kind? Is it 33 percent. What is the probability of getting a pair? Cheers for any explanation. Chris

You say you are not good at math; you don't say why you are asking. Are you taking a class in probability, or just curious for some reason?

Hi!

I'll assume that you want to learn a little about probability, and perhaps have learned some, so a hint will be appropriate. Neither of these questions is very difficult, though neither is as obvious as your guess of 1/3.

To find P(3 of a kind), you can calculate (number of ways to choose 3 cards of the same type)/(number of ways to choose 3 of 9 cards). This is easy if you know about combinations. Give it a try.

To find P(at least two cards alike), you can do something similar, but it is easiest if you first think about P(no two cards alike).

Hi!
You really don't care what the first card is: any type will do. Let's identify the type that you turn over as the desired type. So there are eight cards left to choose from, and only two are of the desired type. So the probability that you will pick one of the desired type on your second pick is

\(\displaystyle \dfrac{2}{8} = \dfrac{1}{4}.\)

Now you have seven cards left, and only one is of the desired type so the probability of success on the third card, given success on the second card, is

\(\displaystyle \dfrac{1}{7}.\)