Acoustics: Convert volume of a cube to an equal volume size right triangle container.

csborgman

I'm a musician building DIY sound absorption "panels" to help control low-frequency reverberation in my small, square studio. This is my first post. Did I do it right? LOL

I don't know the name of a right triangle that has volume, depth, or height. Please correct me if my thinking is wrong, a cube is a square with volume. If that's true, then what's the name of a right angle with volume?

OK, my problem. Convert the interior volume of a cube's known dimensions to produce an equal volume-sized right-angled-shaped container.

Basis. Many years ago the BBC developed several different sound-absorbing "modules" that were initially used in all their radio broadcast rooms and their control rooms. Later they were implemented in their sound recording studios and mixing rooms. They tested and developed two types of modules, a porous wide-band absorber (fiberglass or stone wool insulation) for frequencies 200 Hz and above. And a narrow-band membrane absorber with peak absorption at 125 Hz. Ironically (maybe not) this is exactly the frequency giving me problems.

The membrane absorber must have a sealed airspace to work. This module is then tuned by cutting out holes in the front membrane that would equal a certain percentage of surface space, from 5% to 20%. Based on Helmholtz's design.

These BBC modules are 580 mm on the sides with a depth/height of 184 mm. For a small studio such as mine, and many other bedroom music producers, this would take up too much space because you need 2-4, at least. There are porous absorbers that are designed to fit snugly into the most offending area of a room, the corners, I've built one. But I'd like to build a right-angle membrane absorber but I want to at least start with, a container with equal volume to the BBC module.

And I don't know how to do the math.

BBC module: Volume = 580×580×184 = 61897600 millimeters3