Applied Mathematics question on Permutation

Imilling139

Hi! I’m not sure if what I’m studying is advanced math or not but I didn’t see a category for applied math so I’m just gonna post in here. I’m currently writing notes of permutations and I do not understand something. I will attach the problem and the context so that someone can help me the best way they can. Okay so I understand everything up until the line following the statement “we can write this answer as a permutation”. It starts with 20=5*4= ....... I do not understand why we used the those specific numbers in the fraction. The numerator makes sense because it starts with 5 and then does *4*3*2*1 because of the 5 in 20=5*4. But the denominator does not start with 4??? It’s just skips it and goes straight to 3*2*1?? I’m sorry if this is a little chaotic but I am literally failing math right now and I really need help. If there is any more clarification that is needed to accurately give me answers just let me know and I’ll do it! Thanks so much.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 6
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 6
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 4
It is a simple rule: If \(N\ge j\) then \(_N\mathcal{P}_j=\dfrac{N!}{(N-j)!}\).
So \(_{12}\mathcal{P}_3=\)\(\dfrac{12!}{9!}\)

It is a simple rule: If \(N\ge j\) then \(_N\mathcal{P}_j=\dfrac{N!}{(N-j)!}\).
So \(_{12}\mathcal{P}_3=\)\(\dfrac{12!}{9!}\)
Hi! Thank you for replying! I understand the eventual end to the problem but I do not understand the steps required to get there... can you explain?

It might help if you understood the intuition behind the rule given by pka.

Suppose we have 7 distinct objects, and we want to know how many ways we can select the first one. Obviously

[MATH]7 = 7 * 1 = 7 * \dfrac{(7 - 1)!}{(7 - 1)!} = \dfrac{7 * 6!}{(7-1)!} = \dfrac{7!}{(7-1)!}.[/MATH]
How many ways can we select first one, then a second?

There are 7 ways to select the first and 6 ways to select the second.