Best way to find possible roots?

Mystic

Hi,

What would be the best way to find number of roots with different b values? Should discriminant be tried to use or factoring or how would you find possible number of roots for different values of b in this equation:
f\left(x\right)=4x^4+4bx^2+b^2
. I was factoring it out for
\left(2x^2+b\right)\left(2x^2+b\right)=0
and then because
2x^2
must be positive at all real values except zero then if
if\ b\ =\ 0{,}\ one\ root\ if\ x\ is\ also\ 0\

if\ b\ <0{,}\ zero\ roots\ because\ 2x^2=-b

if\ b>0\ two\ roots

I am just learning these so I don't have a very good whole picture of these issues. So I am thinking mainly the best way to solve this and how to mark it as clearly mathematically as possible without words. That is why I ask more info here. Thank you for help.

Factoring is usually the best way when it's possible. So you have two factors of [imath]2x^2 + b[/imath]. You actually have four roots here, all of them complex. ([imath]x = \pm i \dfrac{b}{\sqrt{2}}[/imath], repeated twice.)

-Dan

Hi,

What would be the best way to find number of roots with different b values? Should discriminant be tried to use or factoring or how would you find possible number of roots for different values of b in this equation:
f\left(x\right)=4x^4+4bx^2+b^2
. I was factoring it out for
\left(2x^2+b\right)\left(2x^2+b\right)=0
and then because
2x^2
must be positive at all real values except zero then if
if\ b\ =\ 0{,}\ one\ root\ if\ x\ is\ also\ 0\

if\ b\ <0{,}\ zero\ roots\ because\ 2x^2=-b

if\ b>0\ two\ roots

I am just learning these so I don't have a very good whole picture of these issues. So I am thinking mainly the best way to solve this and how to mark it as clearly mathematically as possible without words. That is why I ask more info here. Thank you for help.