Calculate the mean weight for a computer

eddy2017

Elite Member
hi, dear tutors and teachers:
The following table of grouped data represents the weight (in pounds) of 100 computer towers. Calculate the mean weight for a computer.
Weight (pounds) Number of Computers
[3 - 5)------------------------------8

[5 - 7)------------------------------25

[7 - 9)------------------------------45

[9 - 11)----------------------------18

[11 - 13)---------------------------4

this totally deviates from the typical mean exercise. can you help work out a solution for this?. i do not understand it .
thanks,
eddy

Please pardon the following (unintentional) pun: Do you know what the weighted mean is?

-Dan
yes, sir. i do know the definition.
instead of each data point contributing equally to the final mean some data points contribute more weight than others. that is basically it, right?
but i have never used that or seen that before.
if you want me to watch the tutorial you attached in the link i can do that.
sometimes with me it is more about the approach used to do an exercise, how would you approach this one, you don't need to tell me the answer just guide me.
thanks

Because it is grouped data, you don't have the actual weights. For example, you know that there are 8 computers with weights between 3-5 pounds, but you don't know their individual weights. The best you can do is assume they were 4 pounds each. To give a total of 4x8=32 pounds. Then do the same for the others to find the weighted mean.

Because it is grouped data, you don't have the actual weights. For example, you know that there are 8 computers with weights between 3-5 pounds, but you don't know their individual weights. The best you can do is assume they were 4 pounds each. To give a total of 4x8=32 pounds. Then do the same for the others to find the weighted mean.
i tink i watch the video on your link and then try to find it and report back to you.
thanks a lot. that was a good tip!

40 is our weighted mean.