Creating a polygon from a point set

krukid

Hi,

Sorry for the programming-style subject - I will bring it down to a geometrical problem further on.

Intro
I am a programmer and as such I know just enough about most Math, Geometry, Physics and so on to have my job done, but every now and then I get challenged with a task that requires me to dig into one of those areas. Today, however, I'm a little lost because I don't even know where to start. I'd appreciate if someone could point me in the right direction or any comments at all.

Task
There's a random set of points and I have to draw a polygon using all of those points so that every point has exactly two lines connected to it and none of the lines that are drawn intersect.

Purpose
In programming, a polygon is drawn as a sequence of lines connecting points given as an array: 1st-to-2nd, 2nd-to-3rd, ..., Nth-to-1st
This makes it possible, for example, to create an hourglass-shaped polygon with only 4 points supplied. The rule in "Task" section is aimed to ensure that, given points {(x, y): (0,0), (0,5), (5,0), (5,5)}, only a square can be formed.

Problem
Geometry-based solution I can think of would be to pick through the point set, drawing a line to another point that has 0 or 1 lines connected to it, but only if it won't prevent me from drawing non-intersecting lines in the future.
Thus, the problem I'm facing is: how can I find out that the line being drawn won't (or will) make it impossible to draw a non-intersecting line in the future?

Thanks.
-Victor

Task
There's a random set of points and I have to draw a polygon using all of those points so that every point has exactly two lines connected to it and none of the lines that are drawn intersect.

Problem
Geometry-based solution I can think of would be to pick through the point set, drawing a line to another point that has 0 or 1 lines connected to it, but only if it won't prevent me to draw non-intersecting lines in the future.