(Differentiation) I can't understand what the question want me to do. Can anyone explain to me what should I really do?

Overuu09

Help, I can't seem to understand what the question really want me to do?
Screenshot_20201205-151905719~2.jpg
This is the only way I can think of to solve this question, i don't even know if I'm doing it right or totally wrong.
Document_2.jpg
Does the question want me to find the roots for a, or the roots for the equation itself?
And I can't understand the note that the lecturer gave to me aswell?
For reference, i attach the note that the lecturer gave to me
Screenshot_20201205-151912211.jpg
Screenshot_20201205-151920651.jpg
Idk, maybe I'm just too dumb to understand the note?

Sorry if this question is quite long, and in the wrong thread. This is my first time using this forum.

View attachment 23486
This is the only way I can think of to solve this question, i don't even know if I'm doing it right or totally wrong.
View attachment 23487
Does the question want me to find the roots for a, or the roots for the equation itself?
And I can't understand the note that the lecturer gave to me aswell?
For reference, i attach the note that the lecturer gave to me
View attachment 23488
View attachment 23489

Sorry if this question is quite long, and in the wrong thread. This is my first time using this forum.
Is the problem statement translated - from another language? As stated - I do not see any need for differentiation.

The question seems straight forward to me.

The function is a quadratic. It therefore has zero, one, or two real roots.

For what values of a will the function have no real roots?

For what values of a will the function have one real root?

For what values of a will the function have two real roots?

Like Khan the Great, the Magnificent, the Unique, I do not see that differentiation for this exercise is required although it is one way to answer the question.