Distributive property

ichbi

Hey guys,

After seven years(!) I have to take up mathematics again for my masters degree. In secondary school I wasn't great at it, so I just started practicing again. I'm using a book which isn't providing a lot of help. I hope you can help me to understand it.

The exercise which I'm doing now starts easy with (a+b) (c+d). I understand that the answer is ac + ad + bc + bd. I can solve it by drawing a visualization. But I don't understand the following: (a+b) (c-d). One plus changed into a minus. So, how do I now where to put the pluses and the minuses? Another one which is (in my opinion a bit harder): -(a-b) (c+d). Long story short: how do I know where to put the pluses and minuses between the ac, ad, bc bd?

There is also another exercise which is hard, but I don't even know how it is called in math.. a few of the questions are:
10xy + 5x * 3y - 12x =
18ab : 6a * b - 3 =
9a * 3c : 9c * 3a =

I don't need the answers, but I do need a help with how to solve these.

Hi, have you tried proceeding like this:
(a+b)*(c-d)=a(c-d)+b(c-d)=ac-ad+bc-bd
and -(a-b)*(c+d)=-[a(c+d)-b(c+d)]=-[ac+ad-bc-bd]=bc+bd-ac-ad

One of the odd realities of such an exercise to that negative sign has two different functions. It does represent subtractions, but it also serves as a sign of a number.

+only
(a+b)(c+d) = a(c+d) + b(c+d) = ac + ad + bc + bd
Nothing suspicious about that.

(a+b)(c-d) = a(c-d) + b(c-d) = ac - ad + bc - bd
If we do it one piece at a time, it is less confusing.

Some like to change things around a little and separate the two meanings. (c-d) = (c + (-d)) -- I've never been a fan of that. There are already too many signs floating around - too many errors to make. On the other hand, some find this beneficial.

(a-b)(c+d) = a(c+d) - b(c+d) = ac + ad - bc - bd
Just one piece at a time. No need to try to jump to the end. Let the notation help you.

-(a-b)(c+d) = -[a(c+d) - b(c+d)] = -[ac + ad - bc - bd] = -ac - ad + b c + bd