Factor theorem polynomials: If x+6 is a factor of 3x^2+bx-48, then b=?

sgray12

Hello, I need some help trying to find the factor theorem with these polynomials. Please excuse some improper terms. I'm very new to this and taking a Pre-cal class.
I was presented with this equation:
If (x+6) is a factor of 3x^2+bx-48 then b=?

Thanks for your help

Hello, I need some help trying to find the factor theorem with these polynomials. Please excuse some improper terms. I'm very new to this and taking a Pre-cal class.
I was presented with this equation:
If (x+6) is a factor of 3x^2+bx-48 then b=?

Thanks for your help
"The factor theorem" is a fact about factors; you need to use it, not find it.

What the theorem says (assuming it's the same theorem I have in mind) is that if (x-c) is a factor of a polynomial f, then f(c) = 0.

You want to find the value of the constant b if 3x^2+bx-48 = 0 when x=... what?

Take that hint, and see what you can do with it. Then show us whatever you were able to do.

Dr Peterson gave you a great hint.
Here is a different way to think about it.
Since 3x^2+bx-48 is a quadratic, then it follows that if 3x^2+bx-48 factors it will factor to linear factors.

Since (x+6) IS a (linear) factor of 3x^2+bx-48, then 3x^2+bx-48 is factorable.

So 3x^2+bx-48 = (x+6)(rx + s). It should be clear that rx^2 = 3x^2 and 6s = -48.
Continue from here.

The Remainder Theorem states: When a polynomial f(x) is divided by (x – h) the remainder is f(h).

However, if f(h) = 0 then there is no remainder and (x – h) therefore divides evenly into the polynomial (ie: there is nothing left over) and so, in that case, (x – h) is, clearly, a factor of f(x).

Which leads us to…

The Factor Theorem which states: (x – h) is a factor of polynomial f(x) \(\displaystyle \Leftrightarrow\) f(h) = 0.

("\(\displaystyle \Leftrightarrow\)" means: "if and only if")

But it is very important to note that it is (x minus h) that is a factor of f(x) when f(h) = 0!