Find the derivative of 3cos^-1(sqrt x)

Hi skeeter.

I am a professional calculus student, but I don't understand this:

Why do we need to put an absolute symbol around [imath]f(x)[/imath] for the derivative of secant and cosecant inverse?🤔
Please show us your work and either you'll see why there are absolute value bars or someone here will point it out. Or is skeeter wrong? ( I doubt that!)

Shown is graph of the basic secant function in black with domain restricted to [imath]\left[0,\frac{\pi}{2}\right) \cup \left(\frac{\pi}{2},\pi\right][/imath] so that it passes the horizontal line test for the existence of an inverse function.

Reflection over the line y = x is the inverse secant function in red ... note its domain is [math](-\infty,-1] \cup [1, \infty)[/math] and range [math]\left[0, \frac{\pi}{2}\right) \cup \left(\frac{\pi}{2},1\right][/math].

What do you notice about the slope of the inverse secant function?

sec&inv_sec.jpg

Hi skeeter.

I am a professional calculus student, but I don't understand this:

Why do we need to put an absolute symbol around [imath]f(x)[/imath] for the derivative of secant and cosecant inverse?🤔
We need to do that because that's what it works out to be!

On the other hand ...

My understanding is that some people define arcsec with a different range, namely [0,π/2)∪(π,3π/2). in order to avoid the need for the absolute value in the derivative. I see no other reason to prefer that definition, and several reasons not to, which probably explains what it is not popular.

I mentioned this here; I think this is the place where I learned about it.

It is also mentioned in Wikipedia, with no citation:

Note: Some authors[citation needed] define the range of arcsecant to be
{\textstyle (0\leq y<{\frac {\pi }{2}}{\text{ or }}\pi \leq y<{\frac {3\pi }{2}})}
, because the tangent function is nonnegative on this domain. This makes some computations more consistent. For example, using this range,