Forming two equations

I've had some trouble with this question and turning it into two equations. Question is:

"There were 96 people in a party. One man leaves and is replaced by a woman, leaving three times as many women as men at the party.
a) Form two equations of the above information given that m represents men and w represents women at the party."

I'm not good at forming equations from worded questions and am having trouble seeing a solution here and it's driving me up the wall. The second part of the question asks that each equation be solved simultaneously and I feel adequately confident to do that. It's just forming the equations that has me stumped, so any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

I know it's not an equation, but could the figures be resolved by dividing 96 by 3, giving you 32 as the total number of men and then subtracting 32 from 96 to give the total number of women at 64?

Thanks in advance.

I know it's not an equation, but could the figures be resolved by dividing 96 by 3, giving you 32 as the total number of men and then subtracting 32 from 96 to give the total number of women at 64?

Rather, in particular to this bit using this method, would the two equations be: m=96/3 and w=96-m? Which you could then solve and substitute into w+m=96?

I'll just include what the 2nd part of the question is which I should have included originally: "b) Solve the two equation simultaneously to find how many men and women were there originally at the party?"

Ok let's test out your answer. You say there are 32 men and 64 women.

Are there 96 people at the party? Does 32+64 = 96 Yes

If one man leaves (now 31 men) and is replaced by a woman (now 65 women), are there three times as many women as men at the party.
Does 65 = 3 x 31? No

SO YOUR SOLUION IS INCORRECT.

Here's the steps you need to go through:

1. If there are 96 people in total and there are m men and w women, what does m + w = ? That's the first equation.