Fraction help: "Mrs. Carlyle bought a bag of peanuts for her children ,Philip, Joy, Brent, & Preston took peanuts from the bag"

summerlearnermom

Mrs. Carlyle bought a bag of peanuts for her children ,Philip, Joy, Brent, & Preston took peanuts from the bag
Philip took 1/3 of the peanuts from the bag
Joy took 1/4 of the REMAINING peanuts from the bag
Brent took 1/2 of the REMAINING Peanuts from the bag
Preston took 10 peanuts
There were 71 remaining peanuts in the bag.
How many were there initially in the bag??
How many peanuts did each child take??

Last edited by a moderator:
Where is the difficulty? Please read posting guidelines.
I would suggest setting up an equation or finding the unknowns in reverse - if 71 remains and Preston took 10, then - ? etc.

Where is the difficulty? Please read posting guidelines.
I would suggest setting up an equation or finding the unknowns in reverse - if 71 remains and Preston took 10, then - ? etc.
Trying to get this figured out. I am not good at this an need to explain it to my son (12 yrs old.) Summer Learning.

Hello, and welcome to FMH! :)

We need to define some variables:

\(N\) = the number of nuts initially in the bag.

\(P\) = the number Philip took

\(J\) = the number Joy took

\(B\) = the number Brent took

\(R\) = the number Preston took

Now, let's look at statements in the problem, that we can turn into equations:

"Philip took 1/3 of the peanuts from the bag"

[MATH]P=\frac{1}{3}N[/MATH]
At this point, the number of nuts left is [MATH]\frac{2}{3}N[/MATH] and so:

"Joy took 1/4 of the REMAINING peanuts from the bag"

[MATH]J=\frac{1}{4}\cdot\frac{2}{3}N=\frac{1}{6}N[/MATH]
At this point, the number of nuts left is [MATH]\frac{1}{2}N[/MATH] and so:

"Brent took 1/2 of the REMAINING Peanuts from the bag"

[MATH]B=\frac{1}{2}\cdot\frac{1}{2}N=\frac{1}{4}N[/MATH]
"Preston took 10 peanuts"

[MATH]R=10[/MATH]
Now, we are told "There were 71 remaining peanuts in the bag." And so we may write: