Frequency distribution

saskura

hello!
I'm a third year college student... I'm just having trouble upon answering my statistics activity it was all about frequency distribution.
I'm wondering if I'm on the right track, the situation is this:

The numbers of hours sleep in a day of 100 students is listed below:
4,8,6,6,5,4,6,6,7,4,4,7,7,6,6,6,6,4,7,8,8,7,6,8,4,6,8,7,4,6,6,5,2,4,8,7,7,8,4,4,2,8,8,7,6,8,5,8,2,7
7,8,8,8,8,8,8,6,6,7,8,4,7,5,6,7,6,3,4,3,6,7,5,8,8,8,7,7,5,4,4,6,6,7,4,5,8,7,6,4,4,5,6,7,5,6,8,8,7,7

so, first I determine the range:

range=Highest Value - Lowest Value
=8-2
range= 6

then, I solved for number of classes using sturges formula:

k=1+3.322(logn)
=1+3.322(log100)
k=7.64
(round up) therefore k=8

then, the class interval:
i=range/k
=6/8
i=0.75
(round up) i=1

so here's the problem my class interval is 1 so I come up with the classes as follows:

2-2
3-3
4-4
5-5
6-6
7-7
8-8
9-9

I got that list by:

lower limit:
adding 1 to the lowest value;
2+1=3
3+1=4
4+1=5
5+1=6
6+1=7
7+1=8
8+1=9

upper limit
subtracting 1 from the second lower limit then adding one to it:
3-1=2
2+1=3
3+1=4
4+1=5
5+1=6
6+1=7
7+1=8
8+1=9

so I got that classes, I really wonder if I'm on the right track because there was no gap between the classes.
In addition, I have also tried to use "2^k greater than or equal to n" but I still got that kind of classes...
Can somebody help me? Am I correct? or there's something wrong please help me...
I'm really having trouble about this.. thank you in advance...

Er, sorry, but I'm having trouble figuring out what the actual question you're tasked with solving is. Can you please post the full and exact text of the problem statement, quoting word-for-word if possible? Thank you.

Er, sorry, but I'm having trouble figuring out what the actual question you're tasked with solving is. Can you please post the full and exact text of the problem statement, quoting word-for-word if possible? Thank you.