hash 1-247 question

chrisxzy

Hi,
I hope you will all excuse me - I'm not a maths expert.
I have been trying to find a way to identify an electronic module by its serial number.
I need to assign each module with a unique number between 1 and 247. (This is an industrial modbus slave address)
There are usually up to 10 of these modules connected together, so I need a way of uniquely addressing each one,
and allocating them an address in the range above without a duplicated address.
e.g. unique serial number: CT1400-523
My question is:
Is it possible to create an algorithm which will do this or is it impossible?
Thanks
Chris

I am not aware of any such algorithm, and I doubt it is doable. Unless you keep track of you numbers, which would be a typical "non-hash" approach, you would have to pick your numbers in some randomized manner. My quick and dirty script tells me that if you randomly pick 10 numbers out of 247 your chance of having them all different is about 83%.

P.S. There is a popular probability puzzle: if you have 25 people in a party what are the chances that at least two of them have birthdays on the same date?

25 people in a party what are the chances that at least two of them have birthdays
50:50
But are there any other approaches that you could use?
Off the top of my head- perhaps you could read all the numerical parts of the serial numbers, put them end to end and rotate them until you find 10 different numbers, all between 1 and 247?
e.g. 001 523 043 123 456... etc. Or am I talking rubbish!!!

There are over 6 billion possible serial numbers. You want to assign each of those to one of 247 addresses. That assignment obviously cannot be done uniquely. You need a table.

50:50
But are there any other approaches that you could use?
Off the top of my head- perhaps you could read all the numerical parts of the serial numbers, put them end to end and rotate them until you find 10 different numbers, all between 1 and 247?