How can a 13 bit number represent 16 bit number?Or why is fragmentation offset multiple of 8?

shivajikobardan

This is more of a mathematics confusion rather than a computer science confusion, so please treat it like that. I understand the computer science behind it(I hope so) but my confusion lies in the basic math part that is there.

I am studying about ipv4 fragmentation.
This is ipv4 header. The fields of concern here are-:
-> identification(16 bit)

-> Flags(3 bit)

-> fragment offset(13 bit)

-> Total length(16 bit)
8Y0WQH1CIjTD8sNFl7zgvsAvtDiRhARdvqQfjmMl6V2oq2yj1_s-lqrNsBbjlW5da_ikcbgFO1UWZO6KabHrZgSZHdHrJXR7wt7xXuYQQdciO8thEnTmdKxXGAZj0OoCndyYOS4h7gO29k0Zdw

In order to understand these concepts of fragmentation, I have solved multiple problems. One of them is below.
KGoIeWXvaUJ9YfueI30jZJCMkNQ_1WeHwhAVvHSwzVXSPHtPAK-QFo34HOFH3soJH8L3Cv-1Y3N4H10K2mcDxouB8jYN9zL7G1UOFyZA1kyRXb9mhPEy8a6CSNfKLv57sml60ojHmHCLaCBGAg

Here initially we have 5000 byte datagram of which 20 byte is header.
The MTU is 1500 bytes.

The answer is this-:
Vv0wXkbY74BGwiupDCe0sxhGJtLEapDcpVjwkBuDb3u_58UZCzQvLPy4Ohrxh2bpJAf_V_3vKou0D_Fgf9IfqUclc3oeExGQtjani0zAXRJvyfMbAcPNzUiDVK7RHzTlbsStewUBP1tU0s_cWQ

But I am unable to realize this simple concept that I believe even a 5th grader can understand even though I am college level undergraduate student. It is being pretty shameful for me.I am leaving my shame aside and asking this instead of giving up. I have asked this everywhere and everyone says this is basic math but it is not clicking in my head. Imma memorize this lol. I can solve any numerical problem related to fragmentation but this curiosity isn’t letting me to learn further and go to ipv6.
It would be immensely helpful to me if anyone can help me via that above example to understand this simple concept. I am unable to relate with this concept.