How to extract coefficients corresponding to data from each time in a mixed effect model in R?

jordanlau

I am not good at statistics and might have a naive question. Any help is appreciated.

Here is the simplified question: Patients received two different vaccines twice and we collected their blood after each vaccination to measure antibody levels in the blood. There are other variables but here I omitted them and just want to know how different vaccines affect the antibody levels. It seems that the longitudinal data mixed effect model is a proper analysis.

Here is the simulated data. 6 patients received Vaccines A or B for the first vaccine and all received Vaccine B as the second vaccine; after each vaccination they visited a hospital to measure blood antibody levels (2 data points at 2 Visits). It is already confirmed with studies that Vaccine A induced higher antibody levels than Vaccine B. So if using only Visit 1 data to do a linear regression, we can see Vaccine A induced significantly higher antibody levels compared to that with Vaccine B. As all patients received A as the second vaccine, if using only Visit 2 data, there is no significance. My question is, if we include all the data in a linear mixed effect model, how to extract coefficients corresponding to each visit data? I only know how to use the summary() to get the coefficients for both visits data, however, the significance for the Vaccine type doesn't seem to be right.

data_raw = data.frame(ID=c(1,2,3,4,5,6,1,2,3,4,5,6),
Antibody=c(50,60,70,30,40,35,101,102,102,102,101,103),
Visit=c(1,1,1,1,1,1,2,2,2,2,2,2),
Vaccine=c("A","A","A","B","B","B","A","A","A","A","A","A"),
VaccineChange=c(0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,1,1,1))

Linear regression of Visit 1 data confirmed that Vaccine A induced higher antibody levels.

lm_Visit1=subset(data_raw, Visit ==1)
summary(lm(Antibody~Vaccine,lm_Visit1))

Coefficients:
Estimate Std. Error t value Pr(>|t|)
(Intercept) 60.000 4.564 13.145 0.000193 ***