Improper Integral ... Help!

trojan

I'm a tutor and I ran into a student's homework problem that I can't crack. The question is:

Integral from negative infinity to positive infinity of the funtion 1 / sqrt [x^4 + 1]

Does this converge or diverge? Can the integral be evaluated? This section was on improper integrals. At first I wanted to compare that Integral to 1 / x^2 as it is always bigger, but then that function isn't continuous at 0, so I don't think I can do that. Then I wanted to see if it would diverge and so I compared it to 1 / (x^2 +1) as that function is always smaller, but I believe that evaluates out to arctan x and that converges to pi, so I can't say the original function diverges. I can't see any "u" substitutions and am now quite frustrated. Any help would be appreciated.

The integral \(\displaystyle \int\limits_{ - \infty }^\infty {\frac{{dx}}{{x^2 + 1}}}\)
converges and has value \(\displaystyle \pi\).

Thank you for your quick response, but could you step by step illustrate how to solve / prove it converges to pi? The steps in solving is what I need.

I don't know if this is a good idea. Pka may scold me, but:

\(\displaystyle \L\\\int\frac{1}{x^{2}+1}dx=tan^{-1}(x)\)

\(\displaystyle \L\\tan^{-1}(\infty)=\frac{\pi}{2}\)

Consider this \(\displaystyle x \ge 1 \Rightarrow \quad \int\limits_1^B {\frac{{dx}}{{\sqrt {x^4 + 1} }}} \le \int\limits_1^B {\frac{{dx}}{{x^2 }}} = 1 - \frac{1}{B}\) and \(\displaystyle 0 < x < 1 \Rightarrow \quad \sqrt {x^4 + 1} > \sqrt x \Rightarrow \quad \frac{1}{{\sqrt {x^4 + 1} }} < \frac{1}{{\sqrt x }}\).

These means that \(\displaystyle \int\limits_0^\infty {\frac{{dx}}{{\sqrt {x^4 + 1} }}}\) exists. Note you have an even function.

I cannot give you the exact value, but it does converge.

Hello. Perhaps I'm not asking my question properly. I want to integrate 1 / sqrt [x^4 +1], not 1 / [x^2 +1]. Those two equations are not the same.

thanks,

I understand that! Look at my second post.