Intercepts

Susan Smith

Hi everyone my friend stocked with this question and don't know how to do it
can you guys help me with it?
it would be great to show me how to do it so I can explain it to her.

Maths 2.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello, and welcome to FMH! :)

(i) To find the \(y\)-intercept, let \(x=0\) and evaluate the given function...what do you get?

Hello, and welcome to FMH! :)

(i) To find the \(y\)-intercept, let \(x=0\) and evaluate the given function...what do you get?

to be honest, I am not good at intercept if you can help me with answers it would be helpful.

to be honest, I am not good at intercept if you can help me with answers it would be helpful.

Simply providing the answers would be minimally helpful. Helping you understand how to find the answers yourself would be much more helpful. How will you be able to explain this to your friend if you don't know where the answers come from?

We're trying to find the point at which the given function crosses the \(y\)-axis. This axis is the line \(x=0\). So, if we let \(x=0\) in the given function, then the resulting value for \(y\) will tell us where on the \(y\)-axis the function is.

[MATH]y(0)=-0.23(0)^2+1.87(0)+1.5=?[/MATH]

Simply providing the answers would be minimally helpful. Helping you understand how to find the answers yourself would be much more helpful. How will you be able to explain this to your friend if you don't know where the answers come from?

We're trying to find the point at which the given function crosses the \(y\)-axis. This axis is the line \(x=0\). So, if we let \(x=0\) in the given function, then the resulting value for \(y\) will tell us where on the \(y\)-axis the function is.

[MATH]y(0)=-0.23(0)^2+1.87(0)+1.5=?[/MATH]
so is gonna be 1.5 ?
or I need to add them together ?

so is gonna be 1.5 ?
or I need to add them together ?

Yes, the two terms with zero as a factor will be zero, and so we are left with 1.5.

[MATH]y(0)=1.5[/MATH]