Least common multiple

darkyadoo

Hi,

The LCM of two numbers is 18. One of the numbers is 18.
  1. Write down all the possibilities for the other number.
  2. Describe the set of numbers you have created.
The set I propose is [imath]\big\{1,2,3,6,9,18\big\}[/imath]

The correction doesn't include 18 ...? Should I include 18?

Thanks

Last edited:
I add another information, we can consider the LCM as a function such that :[math]\begin{array}{ll}LCM:&\N\times \N\to \N\\&(x,y)\mapsto LCM(x,y)\end{array}[/math], thus, we are looking for [imath]x\in \N[/imath] such that [math]LCM(x,18)=18[/math], that is why I propose the set [imath]\big\{1,2,3,6,9,18\big\}[/imath]

Hi,

The set I propose is [imath]\big\{1,2,3,6,9,18\big\}[/imath]

The correction doesn't include 18 ...? Should I include 18?

Thanks
By proposing you mean guessing? There is no guessing in math. Please post your solution.

Thank you sir! I have a French degree in math with honour, and I want to teach in UK so I must take the GSCE in math or an equivalent, furthermore we all know that maths from 13 to 16 years old are not rigourous !! So my solution is the one I have already proposed.

Thank you sir! I have a French degree in math with honour, and I want to teach in UK so I must take the GSCE in math or an equivalent, furthermore we all know that maths from 13 to 16 years old are not rigourous !! So my solution is the one I have already proposed.
By solution I mean the work that justifies the answer.

[math]LCM(x,y)=18\iff\Big\{(x,y)\in \N^2 :(x\mid 18\,\text{and}\,y\mid 18)(\forall n\in [\![0,17]\!]:(x\nmid n\,\text{and}\,y\nmid n))\Big\}\underbrace{\iff}_{y:=18}\big\{x\in \N:x\mid 18\big\}=\big\{1,2,3,6,9,18\big\}[/math]

Last edited:
My problem is not to find the solution, but to know why the Edexcel GCSE maths book excludes 18 of the set of solutions

I don't understand, this proposition is true: [imath]\forall n\in \{1,2,3,6,9,18\} :LCM(n,18)=18[/imath]

This is purely a linguistic issue.