Need help with algebra exponent problem

150mph

I don't know what this kind of problem is called, looked through all my notes and can't find where or if I learned it previously, and struggling with the solution process. Although I gave it a try (2nd img.), I didnt get very far...Screen Shot 2019-12-10 at 2.31.14 PM.pngproblem IMG_6580.jpg

I don't know what this kind of problem is called, looked through all my notes and can't find where or if I learned it previously, and struggling with the solution process. Although I gave it a try (2nd img.), I didnt get very far...View attachment 15341View attachment 15342
Can you simplify:

(y - 1)2 = 2y2 - y - 29

2y2 - y - 29 - (y - 1)2 = 0

expand (y - 1)2 and simplify.

What kind of equation (name) you are getting?

Thanks. Sorry, I'm a beginner and I dont follow how in your first equation you can change the problem to this? The equation name...IDK...

Thanks. Sorry, I'm a beginner and I dont follow how in your first equation you can change the problem to this? The equation name...IDK...
(y - 1)2 = 2y2 - y - 29 ..................................................................This was the equation you were given

0 = 2y2 - y - 29 - (y - 1)2 ............................................................The terms on the left-hand-side [(y-1)2] was brought to the right-hand-side

Now expand (y - 1)2 and simplify.

I don't know what this kind of problem is called, looked through all my notes and can't find where or if I learned it previously, and struggling with the solution process. Although I gave it a try (2nd img.), I didnt get very far...
Please note that [MATH]2y^2[/MATH] does not mean [MATH](2y)^2 = (2y)(2y)[/MATH]. You changed it to [MATH]4y^2[/MATH], which clearly is not the same as [MATH]2y^2[/MATH].

This is a common mistake for beginners, so it's important to learn early not to do it.