Normal vector problem

Elena Baby

I have a problem:
"Prove that any normal vector of z^2=x^2+y^2 hits the z axis."
(I have translated this problem to English so forgive me if it's not understandable.)

What I did was I found the gradient which is equal to 2zk-2xi-2yj=0.
I set x and y equal to 0,and z therefore is equal to 0.
(I'm new to tangent planes and gradients btw)

Please can someone tell me where is wrong and how can I improve my answer?

Since a vector has no location, I think a better translation would be:

Prove that any line normal to the surface z^2=x^2+y^2 intersects the z-axis.​

To do this, you need more than the gradient at a point on the surface (and you certainly can't set x and y to zero for that point).

Rather, write an equation for the normal line at an arbitrary point (a,b,c) on the surface.

We can write \(\displaystyle z^2= x^2+ y^2\) as \(\displaystyle x= r cos(t)\), \(\displaystyle y= r sin(t)\), \(\displaystyle z= r\).

Taking the derivative with respect to r, \(\displaystyle \left< cos(t), sin(t), 1\right>\) is a tangent vector to the surface. Taking the derivative with respect to \(\displaystyle \theta\), \(\displaystyle \left<-r sin(t), r cos(t), 0\right>\) is also a tangent vector. The cross product
\(\displaystyle \left|\begin{array}{ccc}\vec{i} & \vec{j} & \vec{k} \\ -r sin(t) & r cos(t) & 0 \\ cos(t) & sin(t) & 1 \end{array}\right|= \left<r cos(t), r sin(t), -r\right>\) is the normal to the surface at the point \(\displaystyle \left(r cos(t), rsin(t),r\right>\).

A line normal to the surface at that point is \(\displaystyle x= r cos(t)s+ rcos(t)= rcos(t)(s+ 1)\), \(\displaystyle y= rsin(t)s+rsin(t)= rsin(t)(s+ 1)\), \(\displaystyle z= -rs+ r= r(1- s)\) where "s" is the parameter.

Since a vector has no location, I think a better translation would be:

Prove that any line normal to the surface z^2=x^2+y^2 intersects the z-axis.​