Polynomial Multiplication Problem

Acewing

Hello, I'm currently studying for a math placement exam that I shall take at either the end of the month or during the starting week of March. The questions will be similar to the APTP (Advanced Mathematics Placement Test), ergo, I have been studying the sample problems they have online in preparation for the advanced exam.

I have been going through the topics that will be on the test, but there are still some things I'm uncertain of, such as the following problem:

If x 2 and (x + 2)2 (x - 1) + 3(x + 2)(x - 1) = (x + 2)P, then P =

I have absolutely no idea what the "If x 2" means, but the rest of the equation - (x +2)2 (x - 1) + 3(x + 2)(x - 1) = (x + 2)P, at least "looks" to be solvable with Polynomial Multiplication; the FOIL method specifically. (I could be entirely wrong).

My current progress has been -

(x +2)2 (x - 1) + 3(x + 2)(x - 1) = (x + 2)P

(x2 + 4)(x - 1) + 3(x + 2)(x - 1) = (x + 2)P

x3 - 1x2 + 4x - 4 + 3 * x2 - 1x + 2x - 2 = (x + 2)P

There are three uncertainties I'm faced with at this point -

1. Do I apply the exponential in (x +2)2 first, before FOILing?

2. 3(x + 2)(x - 1) - Do I multiply the 3 across, before FOILing?

3. I am very certain that I could be reasoning this entire problem improperly, and there are a few operations I'm missing (though I'm unsure of which ones).

It looks like a binomial problem, but I'm not sure if it is solved as one. The If x 2, and (x + 2)P are drawing blanks with me as well.

PS - I apologize if I am posting this in the wrong section, or if my formatting of the problem is inadequate/incorrect, so please feel free to let me know or move this thread if it isn't within guidelines.

And thank you for reading up to this point, I really appreciate it!

x 2 means x is not equal to 2...I also can't see why that condition is specified...
(x + 2)P means P times (x + 2).

(x + 2)2 (x - 1) + 3(x + 2)(x - 1) = (x + 2)P