Position of the Moon Equation

Christian.

Hello everyone
I am working on an equation to solve for the position of the Moon, which I intend to plug into a very lengthy solar/ lunar eclipse calculation. I am using the formula provided by Jean Meeus in the book Astronomical Algorithms. I understand how the table/ equation works but I am confused on if I include the lines in the table that have no coefficient as + sin(argument) or just not include it at all in the calculation. The instructions in the book either don’t explain what to do at this point or I am miss reading something. This is my first time reading an equation written this way. I will note that I have been to the math and physics/ astronomy professors at my university and they agree it is not that clear on what to do. I will add pictures of my current interpretation and the text itself. Can anyone help? Thank you.

Christian

Attachments

• IMG_2068.JPG
    IMG_2068.JPG
    926 KB · Views: 6
  • IMG_2071.JPG
    IMG_2071.JPG
    353.9 KB · Views: 5
  • IMG_2072.JPG
    IMG_2072.JPG
    358.6 KB · Views: 5
  • IMG_2073.JPG
    IMG_2073.JPG
    364.6 KB · Views: 4
Exactly what do you mean by "no coefficient"? Something like "\(\displaystyle sin(\theta)\)" has coefficient 1, NOT "no coefficient".

What I mean by coefficient is the column “sigma L coefficient of the sine of the argument”. The last row of sigma L is blank, so do I include the argument or leave the argument out of the calculation? The way the formula works is that, you take the coefficient of the sine of argument and put it in front of the sine. Then within the sine function you place the sum of arguments. For example row 1 of the equation would be 6288774sin(1M’). Then you would add all the calculations. What’s confusing is that the instructions do not state if you include the arguments if there is not a value in the sigma L or sigma r column. The last row of the sigma L column is blank. Would I consider the blank spot as a 1 in front of sine?