Probability of Outcome?

jk2021

Hi,

So I'm trying to help out with a math problem and its been a very long time since I have done word problems with probability (and when I studied them, it was very briefly). The problem is below (with an additional bonus).

Three teams of four members each must be chosen for the upcoming school challenge. The teams will draw cards from a hat with the name of each team on a card. The team names are the Tigers, the Warriors and the Yellowjackets. What is the likelihood that Tigers and Yellowjackets teams are filled before a single player is chosen for the Warriors team?

Bonus: If there were only two teams (Tigers and Warriors), what is the likelihood that the Tigers team would be chosen before a single person joined the Warriors?

So I'm guessing I would start by determining the probability of all being chosen on one team first then the remaining but I start to remember something about order mattering and I get lost. I've searched the web a fair amount and looked up calculators to give an idea but I don't feel like those are giving me the correct answer.

1626206720437.png

I guess its really knowing how to set it up and what rules matter because it has to be a specific outcome on a specific team (without going to the 3rd team) which feels maybe overly complex than I'm making it. Anyway, any guidance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

PS. Also, the drawing from the hat doesn't happen all at once, it happens one card at a time. I guess this was clarified due to different outcomes if the drawing was simultaneous? But not sure.

Last edited:
Three teams of four members each must be chosen for the upcoming school challenge. The teams will draw cards from a hat with the name of each team on a card. The team names are the Tigers, the Warriors and the Yellowjackets. What is the likelihood that Tigers and Yellowjackets teams are filled before a single player is chosen for the Warriors team?