proof by contradiction

punchline

Hi guys, got my self stuck again!

i need to prove by contradiction that:

sqrt(2)+ cuberoot(3) is not rational.

I have made it = a/b but i run into problems after that. could anyone give me a hint on what the next step is so i can work it through my self?

cheers!

i need to prove by contradiction that:
There is a very broad theorem: If \(\displaystyle a\) is a non-square-natural number then \(\displaystyle \sqrt{a}\) is irrational.

If \(\displaystyle \sqrt2+\sqrt3\) is rational then \(\displaystyle 2+2\sqrt6+3\) is rational. Why is that?

What is wrong with that?

I need to prove by contradiction that:

I have made it = a/b but i run into problems after that.
What are "a" and "b"? What is "it" that you set equal to a/b? What did you do "after that"?

Please be complete, even if you think it's wrong. Thank you! ;)

sorry im new to talking about high level maths (my first year at uni), let me try to present the problem better.

I have made sqrt(2) + cuberoot(3) = a/b (a,b are from the set of intiger numbers) in an attempt to rearange too create a situation where a and b would be shown to be even intigers causing sqrt(2) + cuberoot(3) does not = a/b and proving sqrt is not rational.

sorry im new to talking about high level maths (my first year at uni), let me try to present the problem better.

I have made sqrt(2) + cuberoot(3) = a/b (a,b are from the set of intiger numbers)...
Did you notice, when they showed you the proof for the square root of two being irrational, that you started with a fraction in lowest terms, and that this lowest-terms assumption was crucial to the proof? You might want to consider using similar reasoning here.

Or, since you're working with something a bit more complex here, maybe we can dispose of the fractional notation. Let's just say the following:

. . . . .\(\displaystyle \sqrt{\strut 2\,}\,+\, \sqrt[3]{\strut 3\,}\, =\, a\, \mbox{ for }\, a\, \in\, \mathbb{Q}\)