Question about chi-square goodness of fit test

Hi all

As a beginner I have a question, where I'm looking for a solution with an explanation:

In 100 tosses of a coin, heads were observed 15 times and tails 85 times. At the 0.05 significance level, test the hypothesis that the coin is fair. Use the chi-square goodness of fit test.

Many thanks for your help. Best regards

Hello A_Y_H. Please share what you've learned so far about the Chi-Square Test for goodness of fit. If you're not familiar with that method, then are you needing help finding on-line lectures or videos? Thank you.

I watched some examples on the internet, where the formula is shown. But I don't know for example when a significance level is given too (given im my example). χ2 = ∑(Oi – Ei)2/Ei, where Oi = observed value (actual value) and Ei = expected value

I watched some examples on the internet, where the formula is shown. But I don't know for example when a significance level is given too (given im my example). χ2 = ∑(Oi – Ei)2/Ei, where Oi = observed value (actual value) and Ei = expected value
Let's ignore the significance level for now. I find it helpful to put it in a table format.

Category
Observed Data
Expected
(Observed-Expected)^2/Expected
Head15??
Tail85??

The sum of the last column is your chi-square statistic. We can continue once you computed the chi-square stat.

CategoryObserved DataExpected (Observed-Expected)^2/Expected
Head15102,5
Tail85900.2778

The expected values are assumptions

hould I have expected 50 heads and 50 tails? :)

100-1=99?

Dear math teacher BigBeachBanana. In fact it's very late here in Europe. Since I need to go to work very early in the morning, I will stop for now! But, I will come back again. I would be really thankful, if you could finish helping me, resolving my question. I wish you a good day, where ever you live on this planet :)

100-1=99?
Not quite.